Limb Lengthening Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down

Author Topic: My proportions are killing me  (Read 18890 times)

Bry

Re: My proportions are killing me
« Reply #31 on: March 29, 2015, 03:24:30 AM »

Keep in mind that doing 12cm's will not only harm your proportions but also your bio mechanics.
There are some people who really think that they will go back to 100% after 10cm's. Maybe it is possible, I just haven't heard of anyone were this was the case.
Doing 12cm will most likely result in a heavy and irretrievable loss in leg function, just keep that in mind when planning your surgeries.
I have no real life experience with this though so I only repeat what I've heard from my Dr. and local orthopeadic.
Wish you all the best!

Wait, but you mean more than 10cm in only one segment or the whole leg? Because I was planning on sharing that length between fermur and tibia.

Alittletooshort

« Reply #32 on: March 29, 2015, 08:42:14 AM »

Wait, but you mean more than 10cm in only one segment or the whole leg? Because I was planning on sharing that length between fermur and tibia.
I mean 10 cm's in total, it's better to spread it out on something like 5\5 though.
The reason I am saying this is that the people I have talked to about this surgery told me that less is always better. I'll E-Mail my Dr. and ask him for the specific reasons why he doesn't like lengthening many cm's.
I don't want to stop you from anything, but If you really want to do that much, my advice would be to go to Dr. Guichet and do 7-8cm's on your femurs and then think about a second surgery.

Uppland

« Reply #33 on: March 29, 2015, 12:20:48 PM »

Yes as far as I know Dr Guichets patients are the only ones who has successfully lengthened 7-8CM whilst still recovering more or less completely. Even with Guichet that is the exception rather than the rule though.

crimsontide