Limb Lengthening Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: A side note on radiation  (Read 746 times)

myloginacc

A side note on radiation
« on: June 27, 2018, 11:34:24 AM »

Disclaimer: I'm no doctor. I'm not offering any kind of medical advice.

I've also received some PMs here "accusing" me of trying to create panic in the forums, but as with anything with a major surgery like this, I feel you should be fully informed about it.

There are are many CLL doctors requesting CT scans in place of plain film x-rays - so they can see the bones better. I'm not going to argue either for or against that, as I lack the medical knowledge and expertise, but I thought everyone should know about both of these procedures and their different levels of radiation exposure.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CT_scan#Scan_dose

CT scans, however, may also be useful in monitoring DVT/blood clots, and preventing terrible health outcomes (that could result in death). Trust your doctors over what you read online, but I see no reason to not be informed about procedures you subject yourself to.

« Last Edit: June 27, 2018, 11:59:07 AM by myloginacc »
Formerly myloginacct; had issues with my login account.
Yes I do want to add, before doing this surgery, ask yourself if you have optimized your life to the fullest extent possible (job/career, personality, etc).

Johnson1111

Re: A side note on radiation
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2018, 12:03:14 PM »

While we're at it, should we discuss the risks of epidural injection and anesthesia as well?

hanshi

« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2018, 12:40:22 PM »

Trust your doctors over what you read online

I would rather say people should mistrust their doctors. Doctors who perform cosmetic surgeries, especially cosmetic LL, belong to the least honest category.