Limb Lengthening Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Can you fly back to your home country after the lengthening phase?  (Read 1504 times)

Mrbeast6000

• Visitor

Hey guys I’m fairly new to LL and have a few questions I haven’t managed to find on other threads.
The main one being, after surgery and the lengthening phase is a patient allowed to fly back to their home country for the healing/consolidation period?

The particulars of this surgery would be in Russia, External frames, 6-8cm tibia lengthening, home country is New Zealand. I understand I would have to return to Russia for frame removal and corrections if I went back home but I want to know if this is something that is commonly done or if you are able to do it at all.

Thanks.

Re: Can you fly back to your home country after the lengthening phase?
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2018, 08:08:23 AM »

Responsible doctors will not allow it.

Knik

« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2018, 10:22:48 AM »

Russia is cheap, if you have a visa stay there
Looking for Pili

Muller25

« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2018, 03:33:17 PM »

Do it in Serbia instead. Stay is cheap and visa is easier to get unlike Russia

Android

« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2018, 07:43:24 PM »

Yes, many doctors will allow you to go home after lengthening.

Especially if you are considering LON or LATN, it's safe to go home after locking those nails; you won't have frames on any longer either. You'll want to find a local physiotherapist to restore your gait and range of motion (ROM). You'll fly back a year or so later to get the nails removed through a much simpler procedure, and you should be back to walking the next day.

Summary of what you could do: install frames, lengthen, correction, lock nails, remove frames, go home to consolidate, restore gait, return to clinic a year later to remove nails.