Limb Lengthening Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Successful lenghtening 7cms with Dr GUICHET  (Read 14307 times)

christine

• Visitor
Successful lenghtening 7cms with Dr GUICHET
« on: April 24, 2014, 04:15:06 AM »

Good Morning
I was operated on last summer for a cosmetic bifemoral lengthening of 7 cms by Dr GUICHET.
I want to share with you what I experienced, as it was a long personal way which finally ended very well.
I am also an orthopedist resident. Dr GUICHET has already operated on many surgeons but I was the first orthopedist.
Background: I was a 30 years old woman, my height was 156.5 cms and I had this project since I am a teenager. Despite the years the feeling that  I should be taller never disappeared and I considered my life ruined by my height. It is so difficult to explain it to our family, friends, colleagues. Nobody can understand. The only key is motivation.
When I decided to go , the first step was to choose the surgeon. I was aware that it is a risky surgery, I know the different procedures and I can see in my daily practice the outcome of different methods. NO WAY I had an external fixator, patients have poor outcome and many complications: infection, pseudarthrosis, nerve damage, ossification is much longer, awful scares and I needed to recovered my job in a reasonable time.
You can visited many surgeons’ websites but the true results are in studies you can find on the international database for physicians: NCBI
By this way I concluded that I should meet Dr GUICHET. As he created his own nail, commonly used in hospital, he should be the most experienced surgeon in this procedure. Other surgeons use his nail, but he invented it! Moreover he has his own method to improve a great ossification (growth factor, keeps periost,...)