Limb Lengthening Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: LL Mindset (Advice from Veteran)  (Read 592 times)

CLLvet

LL Mindset (Advice from Veteran)
« on: March 10, 2024, 02:06:07 PM »

Hi everyone,

I am a Limb Lengthening veteran. I lengthened 8 cm on my femur with an internal lengthening nail in 2019. In 2023, I lengthened 6 cm on my tibias with external frames (Taylor Spatial Frames LATN). Both surgeries with Dr. Giotikas in Athens, Greece. Great experience both times. I have long since recovered from the 2019 procedure and I have recovered well from the 2023 tibia surgery (fully consolidated, am jogging now, no complications).   

I never wrote diaries because I, myself, didn’t find diaries particularly helpful in my journey. I thought most of them were too personal/patient-centric to be that useful to me. Many of the diaries just seemed to focus on personal matters like pain, depression, and loneliness. Pain/ depression occurs with everyone, but that varies quite a bit from patient to patient. For instance, my LL journey (both times) was one of the happiest periods in my life (despite the discomfort). I feel it comes down very much to your mindset, so I will discuss that below.

I started posting on the LL Forum a couple months ago to try to offer practical advice to people considering this surgery. Many men have approached me with concerns about their mindset/ mental condition, so this is clearly an important topic for the community. I get questions like-

Am I crazy for wanting to do this surgery?
Is it morally wrong?
What will my friends think? Will my parents disown me?
How do I explain my new height?
How can I keep this private?
Can I do it alone or will I need a home aide?
What should I tell my boss so I can get the necessary time off?

I have helped many with these questions. Usually via 1 on 1 interaction. I must understand your situation to give advice.